jessym0th

OTH Social Assistant | Post Punk Press

  • Cardiff, Wales
  • 33 reviews
Coffee, mosh pit and video game enthusiast, vape advocate and lover of all animals. Picky with my audio devices and flexible when it comes to genre. If I could meet one person, it would be Justin Chancellor, just to hear the live bass intro to Forty Six & 2.

Follow jessym0th

Currently listening to

Current project: Post Punk Press

Alternative music reviewing and news platform.

View Post Punk Press

Reviews

Showing 33 review(s).

Jessy Morgan reviewed Call to the Faithful 1 week ago

For fans of Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes, Rage Against The Machine and IDLES. Okay, Call To The Faithful, you have my attention.
Press play.
‘It Doesn’t Matter’ kicks off aggressively, it’s got choppy guitar riffs that feels blunt and to the point. The repetition in the intro builds a lot of tension, like a volcano about to erupt. As the intro reaches it’s climax, we get the sound of what would be the love-child between Faith No More and Rage Against The Machine. It’s got that angst from the latter, but the rhythm and vocalisation reminiscent of Faith No More. Even though this is the only track I’ve listened to, it’s clear to see the appeal and why the band has garnered a lot of interest. (Side note, listen to the previous releases!)
As mentioned in their bio, ‘The Way You Taste’ is set to be released later in 2021, and I – for one – am excited to see what else Call to the Faithful have up their sleeves.

calltothefaithful replied 1 week ago

Wow, thanks Jessy. That was a pleasant notification to get and has made our day. Thanks for checking us out and for your kind review. We are heading into the studio this weekend to finish the next single ‘The Way You Taste’. In the meantime you can check out any of our pages at https://linktr.ee/calltothefaithful – have a great day.

Jessy Morgan reviewed MuddiBrooke 1 week ago

The first track that stood out to me just because of its name was ‘Straight Jacket’ and at first listen, I really got the impression that MuddiBrooke was more noise-rock than anything. It didn’t hit the right places it needed to, so I moved along to their latest track, ‘Liverpool Guy’ and convinced myself I was listening to another group all together. I had to check to make sure, and yep, this is MuddiBrooke. I instantly got that anarchist punk vibe; a taste of chaos in the youth. ‘Liverpool Guy’ feels like an ode to that relatable situation of being stuck between a rock and a hard place when it comes to a quick romance. It’s got that real grungy drive with distorted instruments, it’s like being dragged backwards into the early 90s where punk started to find its place within other genres.
Okay, so I’m invested. Time to check out ‘Devil,’ that was released Halloween of last year. It’s a slower moving track that is very gripping. The hoarse vocals atop the clean guitar is empowering, it’s more of a statement than a track. Despite it’s haunting lyrics, it comes across as more of a personal rise. Like coming out the other side of a traumatic experience equipped and ready to stand tall. At this point, I’m starting to doubt my first gripe with ‘Straight Jacket.’ After two tracks that shows this trio’s talent and chemistry, how can one track feel so out of place?
And that’s when it hit me. The name! There is no way that anyone could be sane while their movement is bound by a straight jacket. That the noise inside someone’s head must be so loud, it’s got to escape somewhere. It’s not just a title, it’s a theme. So, press play, and let’s go again.
It’s only this time around that I get the artistry and understand the track a little more. That this track is a portrayal of experience, a clear message that sometimes not everything is able to perfectly fit together like puzzle pieces. Sometimes the chaos is pounding and there’s only one way to let it out – tell the entire world.
MuddiBrookes debut EP ‘Lunacy’ is due for release soon, and after this brief yet inspiring encounter with them, I’m very interested to see what kind of compilation they put out.

MuddiBrooke replied 1 week ago

Hi Jessy,
Thank you so much for your amazing review!! You really got every little detail we were trying to put across!
If you email us over your postal address, we’ll happily send over a CD of ‘Lunacy’ as a thank you! Our address is muddibrooke@gmail.com.

Thanks again!!
Brooke x

Jessy Morgan reviewed Abrasive Trees 2 weeks ago

I’m a sucker for any artist that falls under the psychedelic rock category, so when Abrasive Trees came up like a blip on my radar, my fingers were like a homing missile to their Spotify profile. Their most recent release, ‘…Now You Are Not Here’ from July 2021, certainly didn’t let me down. With an echo on clean guitar lines and a sprinkle of chanting backing vocals, Abrasive Trees offer a unique experience within their sound. Nostalgic of late 70’s psychedelic rock legends Pink Floyd, the production and mastering of their tracks are absolutely flawless.
The three songs compiled onto the ‘…Now You Are Not Here’ feel like it’s own story. It’s a must for your first listen to be in full of the three tracks in my opinion. It’s got apocalyptic energy, comparative to War Of The Worlds. It truly does feel extra terrestrial, and when you close your eyes and allow yourself to be fully immersed, it triggers stimulating surround sound. Both ‘Ashram Song’ and ‘Before’ are phenomenal instrumentals, allowing the music to speak louder than any lyrics could.
What’s special about Abrasive Trees in the three tracks I chose to listen to for my first experience, is their confidence in their instruments. Their knowledge that, in this particular case, has the strongest voice beyond reasonable doubt, and not once during the compilation did they overstep that mark.
This is definitely not the end of my Abrasive Trees experience, however I’m not ready to give up ‘…Now You Are Not Here’ just yet.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Parlour Suns 3 weeks ago

What a great couple mo this it’s been for Parlour Suns – it’s been hit after hit. This time around, their latest track ‘T-Shirt’ released in the last couple of weeks is yet another display of their ongoing talent, turning their foundation into concrete beneath them.

This latest track moves in perfect balance with rhythmic drums and bass, building to an explosive rush of instruments for the bridge. There’s a softer feel to ‘T-Shirt’ than previous releases, but that’s not because of a lack of energy. Vocally and lyrically, ‘T-Shirt’ feels more personal; it feels more calculated in it’s lyrics. Either Parlour Suns are top tier convincing short fiction writers and contemporary poets, or their ability to channel real life experiences into music with such relatable open mindedness that the track takes on a life of its own. You see, ‘T-Shirt’ has stand out qualities, and while all we’ve got from Parlour Suns is banger after banger, ‘T-Shirt’ doesn’t have that iconic “wave your hands in the air as the chorus hits” kind of vibe, but a more connected feeling between artist and listener.

Once again, Parlour Suns have gone above and beyond, providing us with not only another track to get your kicks off to, but one that has the drive of human passion behind it.

Jessy Morgan reviewed SLACKRR 3 weeks ago

Slackrr have grown exponentially over the last couple of years, becoming one of the most popular rising pop punk bands to come out of the UK. Being known for their energetic, charismatic and dedication to their music, it’s no surprise that their latest track ‘We Are’ is the perfect pop punk track they’ve ever released.

Featuring catchy hooks, bouncy drums and power chords that could conduct enough energy to light the entirety of London, ‘We Are’ is another step for Slackrr becoming even more distinguished in themselves. They step further out from the crowd with each release, showing their hard work when it comes to songwriting which will ultimately be the reason Slackrr breaks the mould.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Pay The Man 1 month ago

Pay The Man, a grungy alternative rock acoustic one-man project has more life in it than a puppy feeling grass for the first time. Their 2021 debut album, ‘Regulars’ features varied tempo’s, with ‘Situationship’ taking a huge portion of it’s spotlight. It’s high energy, a true display of talent of Pay The Man’s front and only man, Kyle.
What really stands out for ‘Regulars’ is it’s grunge tones on top of the prominent sound of the acoustic guitar. It would be amazing to see Pay The Man live, to see if it stands up to it’s recorded versions – because I’m really digging this! The bio states about the projects “creative freedom,” and what this freedom has escalated to is a catchy, country meets alternative love-child parented by Soundgarden and Bryan Adams. A bit of a mad combination, but give ‘Regulars’ a listen and you’ll see what I mean. I bet there’s probably a ton of other comparison’s too.
Overall, Pay The Man has a unique selling point, and that’s it alternative, high energy music that’s wrapped in an unwinding and compelling blanket of it’s acoustic wonder.
Sleeping on Pay The Man would be a mistake, the project is a one-of-a-kind journey promoting excitement and boldness,

Jessy Morgan reviewed Samuel Howard 1 month ago

The first thing to note about ‘The Next Thousand Years’ is it’s soundscape of aura. It begins with beautiful piano and a voice that instantly brings goose bumps to your skin. It’s captivating, provoking emotion that not only brings a sense of of connectivity, but an outer body experience. With the first track already gripping listeners by the heart, it’s title track continues it’s soundtrack-esque style of writing featuring a heavy bass drum. It’s weighted and deep, like trying to swim while your muscles feel heavy and stiff.
What Samuel Howard has created along with his guests on this EP is not only music, but tracks that really bring to life it’s feelings – both emotionally and physical. I get a sense of relief only with the female vocals on it’s title track, but with palpitations in line with the drum beat. It’s quite the experience so far, and while usually this genre, (or should I say style of music since there isn’t one specific genre) isn’t my cup of tea, ‘The Next Thousand Years’ isn’t something that’s easy to put down and come back to. It feels like storytelling and it would be rude to walk away in the middle of it.

Samuel Howard’s ‘The Next Thousand Years’ is wonderfully written and put together and I urge anyone curious to press play and listen to with all your senses and allow it to take you on it’s journey.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Parlour Suns 2 months ago

Parlour Suns most recent release ‘What Else Can I Do Wrong?’ solidifies my previous review. It’s yet another demonstration of chemistry between instruments that compliment the vocals. ‘What Else Can I Do Wrong?’ features that bouncy, pop tones wrapped in a layer of mystery – there’s areas in which you expect a heavy break but instead met with groovy beats. If you’re not moving to this track, then you’re simply not listening loud enough. A very favourable part of this track is that subtle but deep pounding bass that contrasts the clean rhythmic guitar. It’s a perfectly balanced track, featuring balanced levels of instrumentals that allow each component to let their talents shine through.

It’s fair to say that Parlour Suns have found their sound and did so prior to this release, but what this track does is emphasise their continued passion and talent for songwriting. These are no one trick ponies, they’re proving their continuous growth and development as a band. They’re showing their strengths within their genre which is setting them apart from the crowd. Once more, they’ve displayed their perfectionism through high quality work that will give the industry a run for their money.

Again, this IS a band that will one day, fill an arena of people, but until then, these lads have a very exciting career that will be inspiring to watch.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Midwich Cuckoos 2 months ago

The latest release for Midwich Cuckoos is their compilation of lockdown sessions. It’s their tracks turned acoustic, where you hear the real vocal range of the bands vocalist atop the mellow strums of the guitar. But what Midwich Cuckoo’s are all about is vastly different to their latest release – they’re usually loud, tumultuously energetic channelling pure anarchy through their music.

Let’s take ‘Russian Doll’ for an example. I dived straight in to their lockdown sessions so I could experience the band at their most vulnerable and it’s a beautifully written track. It’s perfect in tempo, it’s mellow and most of all the music sweeps you up like a current. In the original, you’re instantly greeted by the most obnoxious drum beat that’s loud and chaotic. It’s an explosion of sound deep inside your ear canals; like sipping on a coffee that has 4 shots of espresso with zero milk to take that bitter edge off. Midwich Cuckoos might be an acquired taste beyond their lockdown sessions, but their demonstration of talent makes it worth keeping an eye on them in the long run.

Jessy Morgan reviewed PHILLIP FOXLEY 2 months ago

You might be asking yourself “what exactly is ‘Brit Pop’?” like I did when I first found myself on Phillip Foxley’s On The House Artist Page. Is it the sound of McFly? JLS? One Direction? The happy and soppy boyband style of music is non- existent here thankfully, instead the expectations I had are shattered, leaving me delightfully surprised with the emotional passion in the first acoustic track found on Spotify.
The first track to be suggested is ‘It’s Up To Us!’ which toys with melancholic tones both instrumentally and vocally. It’s captivating from the get go, like being told a guy-wrenching story that plucks the strings of your heart. North Walian artist, Phillip Foxley displays unreal vocal talent with the ability to range the vocals to drive the veracity and intensity of the track. It’s the same in “I Don’t Want To Go!,” where the low voice feels descendent of Viking chants, and it just goes to show the difference and variety that Phillip Foxley can achieve with work. A real treat, however, was the two different versions of ‘Promises’ – you have the relaxation of a piano instrumental on one side, and in another version, it’s a real British folk punk-slash-hip-hop ballad. It sounds like an odd combination, but the track moves from one genre to the other quite swiftly, and you barely notice until you’re a minute in and wondering to yourself if the track changed without you noticing.(Side note, North Walians don’t have that Welsh twang when they sing?!)

Jessy Morgan reviewed Cr3at10n 2 months ago

Their latest release, ‘Anger Management’ is energy fueled. It’s combative, loud and chaotic. CR3AT10N are hardcore punk and while the first minute of ‘Where’s It Gone?’ feels like anarchy, it comes as a surprise that the vocals can stretch beyond the shouting and into an impressive tone. Not only that, but instrumentally CR3AT10N have a plethora of talent outside of their chosen genre. They bring these elements into their tracks, with clean guitar solos alongside melodic bass lines and thunderous drums. The song that displays this the most is ‘I’m So Bored Of The BBC’ where the track is rhythmic throughout, featuring a calculated break where the instruments are let loose to display their talents.
From ‘Anger Management,’ the track Slacker really stands out. It’s a true hardcore track, the kind that belongs in a small room of crowded people with sticky floors. But there talent doesn’t stop there, ‘Fake Suicide’ brings out a slower, more melodic side of the band. They’re an exciting group with a brilliant ability for songwriting and for fans of the genre, CR3AT10N are definitely worth following.

Jessy Morgan reviewed THE NEW AMERICA 2 months ago

Looking for some new music and stumbling across The New America is a very happy accident. Instrumentally, the distorted guitar works well with the melodies produced – it’s all the right types of grungy within the modern genre. It’s delivered atop cadenced drums and rhythmic guitar that starts ‘Hong Kong Free Pass’ like Nirvana had a love child with Sum 41 – I know, wild, but hear me out, this track has the pop punk rhythm underneath that distortion. It’s bouncy, angsty, and what you would probably expect if you mixed those two bands together. An odd combination, for sure, but it works so well, especially when the authentic punk vocals come into play. I always find that those mismatched, spoken punk vocals takes a track from a song to an anthem – and that’s what The New America have a knack for. Also, the lyric ‘the streets smell like cocktails and blood’ is up there in my favourites. It’s just pure genius, so kudos, The New America, you’ve ticked all the boxes in ‘Hong Kong Free Pass.’

With the next track I listened to, I feel like it should have really emerged to be a cover of ‘Kiss Me’ by Sixpence None The Richer within the first couple seconds. The bass brings that rooted alt punk sound that throws this track into it’s own life. I am completely captivated by the way the band bring in all the instruments one by one in ‘Papillion.’ The intro, prior to the vocals displays the instrumental talents, and how each of their tones work together to create the bigger picture. And again, with the addition of the vocals, you swap out the basic alt-rock genre for punk rock – emphasis on the punk. For a group that’s self-proclaimed noise rock, who quote in their bio: “we don’t know what we’re doing,” The New America certainly have a great writing talent that should be explored and experimented further.

Jessy Morgan reviewed poppyshow 2 months ago

With one release under their name, Poppyshow already feel familiar. Using their individual influences combined to create the music, ‘sick and tired’ is alluring and inviting. It’s got that alternative rock dance vibe – the get-up-and-move motivations that comes from bouncy guitar, upbeat drums and a cadenced bass slithering underneath the layers.

Being their debut track, ‘sick and tired’ is a perfect place to start. It’s a very establishing intro to the band and their intentions for their music. From one track, I know what to expect and I know that their later releases will probably hit as great as this one, or at least I hope! With a group of talented song writers with a knack for their chosen sound, it’s exciting for alternative rock fans.

As seen above in the Poppyshow origin story, with a little more of a push and the pandemic to be fully over, it’s easy to envision the growth and development of Poppyshow and their music. I eagerly await another track or even a full EP that should turn out to be a real staple in day-to-day playlists. (*hinthint* hit me up when you’re new material is ready!)

Overall, if you’re looking for something appealing, easy-going in terms of genre yet full of that punchy satisfaction, ‘sick and tired’ ticks all the boxes.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Silver Haar 2 months ago

Silver Haar has released their debut EP ‘Light’s Out’ recently and it doesn’t take long to fall in love with it. It’s a soundtrack EP, like rain falling on the window while you dance around your bedroom in your underwear. I’m basically describing what should probably be their music video, ha!

But for real, kicking off with the title track, ‘Light’s Out’ it features that charm that Silver Haar has got. It’s light and moves in fluid motion, and what this Glaswegian band has got the knack for is creating an experience within their tracks. ‘Push it Away’ is driven by clean guitar to start with, that kind of gives it that psychedelic vibe to kick start. Is this a THEME? Maybe, or I’m just picking up on nothings. As ‘Push it Away’ comes to it’s peak, it brings with it a heavier undertone, like it’s coming to an epic explosion before it concludes.

Overall, I’ve been listening to Silver Haar for a couple of weeks now, and ‘Light’s Out’ is a welcome addition, even better now that it’s on Spotify. The group have a unique sound that is refreshing and new. In an industry that is bursting with new artists, Silver Haar really stands out for me. They’re close to perfecting their sound, and it’s an exciting journey to be on as a fan.

Jessy Morgan reviewed BLUEBIRDS 2 months ago

Have you ever experienced a song title being, quite literally, the perfect name and description for a song.

My first listen to BLUEBIRDS and I am thrown into an actual Clusterfuck. With its title accurately depicting the notion of the track, BLUEBIRDS have unrelenting energy. It’s chaotic and loud and, well, brilliant. They’ve put together tracks that warp boundaries between rock, hardcore AND punk. They’re driven, political and straight up combative in their tone. And it’s no surprise that the compilation of songs on their lockdown EP, 3P is full of anarchy – imagine having the energy to play in a hardcore punk band but being locked up for months!

The distortion gives the tracks that gritty edge, especially in ‘Three Pints’ where it feels dark and cagey until about three quarters of the way through and explodes. If there’s one thing to say about BLUEBIRDS, it’s that they know how to make a crescendo feel like a wall of death. The bio may read “light-hearted” but I’d be damned if I go to a BLUEBIRDS show and not get roundhouse kicked in the skull.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Belle Royals 3 months ago

Think of the term noise rock. What do you imagine? It’s probably the sound of Belle Royals. Over on their BandCamp, Newcastle and Bristol combination band have what can only be described as the sounds of chaos. There’s so many things going on that it’s hard to pin point exactly what stands out, and I’m all honesty, it’s hard to tell if it’s trash or a masterpiece. Hear me out, I started listening to Belle Royals a few days ago to get the vibe of them and I was slightly taken aback, but enjoyed it. See, I’m a big fan of Aphex Twin and the experimentation of music so I really did vibe with it. I appreciated the different sounds that come together in an unusual way. The next day, after a busy work day it was like having a BB gun shot directly into my ear drum.
Despite my various opinions on different days, I think Belle Royals ability and ruthlessness when it comes to their music will appeal to a very loyal fan base. Not only that, but their capability to experiment and make the most out of each sound will see them push the boat further out than most in an exciting voyage to find their foundation.

Jessy Morgan reviewed TYRANTS 3 months ago

Every now and then, I need some heavy, ruthless and loud music to really satisfy my needs. Need a morning pick-me-up? Hard day at work? Some energy to just get up out of bed and do those chores you swore you were going to do two days ago? What I’m saying is, sometimes deathcore is that spark of motivation you need, and Tyrants delivers it in leaps and bounds.

The deep bass and drums ricochet from each other, offering that real hardcore edge, topped with that distorted guitar that drives it’s gritty, violent tone. Guttural vocals are on point, using a variety of techniques that emphasises the nature, harmonised perfectly to add that heavier weight to their music. ‘Apostle’ is calculated to the tee, prioritising instruments in all the right places that gives the track a fullness; a completion to the highest possible standard it could be. Tyrants have not cut any corners in their writing, and ‘Fear’ is further proof of that. Being the earlier release of the two, ‘Fear’ pursues that real deathcore sound. It’s the kind of track that’s absolutely filthy, if you’re not headbanging and wanting to get into the middle of the mosh pit and throw some punches, you’re simply not listening loud enough. And that’s the best way to describe the band – the louder the better.

Jessy Morgan reviewed QUORUM 3 months ago

Prologues aren’t usually my thing, but let me tell you one thing – Quorum’s latest release ‘Death of Intellectual Success’ sets the tone for the rest of the seven tracks perfectly. Ever wondered what it’s like to float? Not the Tim Curry IT kind of floating, the kind that allows your muscles to relax and your thoughts to be light and easy. That’s what this album is, it’s intergalactic: an explosion of colours atop the fabric of the universe.

Sorry, let’s get back to it. Hailing from Devon, Quorum’s easy going sound is calculated in its execution. A real favourite is ‘Still Can’t See’ that features a driven bass line at its core, giving a soft bouncing feeling. There’s a lot of variance however – Death of Intellectual Success uses techniques of other genres, such as distorted riffs of rock, high energy representing pop and vocalisation reminiscent of contemporary emo. I know, I know – music has a tendency to blur boundaries and experiment, but the thing about Quorum is that they’ve managed to tie it all together to make an album that’s the musical equivalent of art. It feels modern but archaic at the same time, it’s as if it represents the current era but has a place in history. Or am I interpreting it wrong? Whatever the case is and which ever way Quorum’s fans take their perception, Death of Intellectual Success is a brilliant staple to their growing discography. It’s an exciting addition to their previous fans and an interesting starting place to new listeners like myself.

Death of Intellectual Success is readily available across all streaming platforms and are currently undergoing a tour that can be checked out on their website.

Jessy Morgan reviewed No Murder No Moustache 3 months ago

Folk punk? Cardiff? This is definitely down my street. No Murder No Moustache are politically driven, on the edge of your seat group that doesn’t take life too seriously. Their music brings upbeat, sea shanty folk punk that is no less than authentic when it comes down to it. Appearing on a compilation album titled ‘A Tribute To Pro Skater 1 + 2’ by Smash Mouse Records that describes this Cardiff based trio to a tee, No Murder No Moustache is a delicacy reminiscent that combines new sounds with the old. You think you know, but you don’t. They’ve got a lot of unpredictability going track to track.

They may not hold the most perfected sound, – its raw, a little mismatched and equalisers seem all over the place at times but their energy makes up for it , and that’s the true spirit of punk. It’s a middle finger to the mainstream, and that’s the appeal to No Murder No Moustache. Their music is a hobby, not a business, it’s fun and real. Its empathetic and humorous in all the right places. Its an anthem for the little people, the kind of music that has the true potential to reach the hearts of many around the country.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Silver Haar 3 months ago

Maybe I’m just a sucker for a Glaswegian accent, but Silver Haar has completely captured my attention. The bands latest track ‘Lost’ creates a tranquil atmosphere with the use of harmonised instruments that creates an aura and experience. It’s unapologetically Scottish with the thick accent above melodic guitar, and it adds to the overall charm that Silver Haar has generated.

Using the melodies to create what feels like positive undertones, ‘Lost’ provokes reaction in the way of movement. For me, I wanted to put it on in the car and put the windows down, stretch my hand out the window and let the wind move my hand like a fish in the sea. It’s not a heavy track thats motivating, but one that feels hazy: when you need a good few minutes of lightness. The bands calculated timing throughout the track gives it that perfected feeling – ‘Lost’ needs no more or no less. It’s a standalone track that, in my opinion, brings out the best of the band.

silverhaar replied 3 months ago

Wow! Thank you so much for the review and your kind words Jessy!
We really appreciate it!

Jessy Morgan reviewed Holloway 3 months ago

Made up of four members and having a Facebook profile rather than page, Holloway are near enough a complete mystery, and their music only exaggerates that. Alternative indie rock from Plymouth, Holloway has that late 70s vibe to their track, When I Wake. Its an interesting one for sure, its chilled and easy going with chanting vocals that put you just slightly on edge. The psychedelic feel carries on with second track, The Bridge.

Its oddly appealing, like a soundtrack looking back on melancholic memories. The type of tracks that take you into your own world while you’re sitting backseat on a love drive home. Drip the rain drops down the window, turn the colour black and white – scene! Even writing this, I felt myself slip into a state of disassociation (in fact taking just little over 20 minutes to get the first sentence down!) but what Holloway have achieved in their two currently available tracks is an atmosphere that encourages a personal experience and response.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Parlour Suns 3 months ago

Rock music is very much alive, and Parlour Suns are an example of that. Kicking off my introduction to Parlour Suns with their latest release ‘Figure It Out,’ I’m thrown a deep bass and cadenced drums. Science says that the sound of a shallow bass is what makes a track catchy and appealing, and that is certainly what Parlour Suns have created with this track. The reverberation of the track is balanced so incredibly well that it draws attention to the talent of the clean guitar notes and emphasises the variance of vocals. I’m already blown away – Parlour Suns oozes talent with their song writing in their recent release.

A more combative start with their (also recent but previous release) ‘Embers.’ It’s a reminder that rock the rock genre has such a varied sound, and this Plymouth based quartet are showing their expertise in every corner. ‘Embers’ display an ability to slow down, speed up, stop and start at all the right places. The sound you hear from these two tracks makes you believe that these lads have been doing this for years, but more surprisingly, the faces behind the music belong to a group of early 20’s friends. Knowing this only makes it more exciting to follow Parlour Suns. The talent displayed in these tracks are astonishing! Forming in 2020, the group has already found an established sound for themselves that offers so much room for movement and experimentation.

There’s little to compare the band, however if you’re a fan of the Glastonbury line ups, then you’re likely going to be a fan of Parlour Suns. They don’t feel like a small time band that would be playing intimate shows to ten or so people – you can quite easily envision them in big venues with hundreds (hell, I’d even say thousands) of fans reciting the lyrics back at them.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Bag That Weasel 3 months ago

There is absolutely no way I can scroll past the name ‘Bag That Weasel’ and not at least check them out. Self proclaimed hard hitting and energetic alternative rock band, what Bag That Weasel have on offer is energetic and then some.

Releasing the 3 track compilation earlier this year in April, there’s enough to get a taste of the band and short enough to get excited and the prospect of more material.

Modern day Brody Dale? Perhaps. The vocals do feel like they get slightly drowned out by the distortion, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It places an emphasis on the terse guitar riffs reminiscent of mid 90’s alternative punk. The overall production feels gritty which only confirms the raw musical material that’s been put out – in a world of clear cut instruments and over produced effects, leading track Groundhog Day gives that all important reminder that music is about passion, energy and talent before the editing and mixing.

Lonely Blues takes the spotlight in my opinion – it has that instrumental, arithmetic rhythm that really drives the mysterious tone. The vocalist is clear and truly shines with a unique voice that’s entirely her own. Did I mention Brody Dale? Move over, we got a new punk in town. Finishing the compilation with Don’t Tell Me, Bag That Weasel hold that rhythm, opening into a melodic rock bridge and chorus. The transitioning is perfect and calculated, proving that the future of Bag That Weasel has a lot of potential and an exciting career ahead of them.

Bag That Weasel replied 3 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to check us out and listen to our music, we are are buzzing with kind review you have given us. If you would like any more information about us about up and coming shows or future releases contact us using our Facebook page.

Jessy Morgan reviewed CUFFS 4 months ago

Cuffs – Factory Sessions EP Review

The Factory Sessions EP by Cuffs is an incredible display of modern punk in its most raw form. It’s rough around the edges, at times a little mismatched but high in energy and attitude. Get Up Get On introduces you to the next 27 minutes with a sharp kick that continues into To The Bone. Their distinguishing sound turns oddly charming in their second track with their unique melodic chorus. The implementation of discordant vocals ties the overall sound of Cuffs together.
The disgruntled sound that Cuffs have displayed so far drops off a bit in Witch Nails, feeling like a more melodic track from the get go. It has a different kind of feel, softer tones that has a reservation of energy – or so it seems. But it doesn’t last long as Cash Cow continues on with the combative punk tone that’s heard at the start. Factory Sessions is a raw display of what Cuffs are capable of, and feels like a developmental project as you go through each track. From Cash Cow onwards, you have the variance of their aggressive attitudes atop energetic instrumentals while executing a Cuffs-style melody.
Being my first experience of Cuffs, I get the small-town band vibes that fit perfectly in the hardcore-punk scene. Put them in a dive bar, sprinkle some battered plastic beer cups on the floor and add some oversized vests and crew socks and you’ve got yourself a pure, underground punk show. The lasts two tracks of Factory Sessions only supports that vision more, but ending the EP with Scandals and Vandals, the music seems to feel more polished than what we began with. Cuffs have a very uncommon sound that’s a welcome difference.
In all, Factory Sessions by Cuffs is a staple and brilliant showcase of what is on offer in the UK punk scene.

Jessy Morgan reviewed SENECA 6 months ago

I didn’t take to math very much in school, I got a D in my GCSE and to this day I count on my fingers. But maybe if they played Exeter’s finest Math-rock band, SENECA in my lessons, I’d have taken a much larger interest. Aside from not really knowing what Math-rock is, I can tell you that Exhale, Sigher is a gripping track from the get go. With only two tracks currently available, SENECA’s talents are undeniable when it comes to song writing.
Reminiscent of artists such as TOOL and Nine Inch Nails respectively for their instrumental complexities, SENECA has the advantage of their contemporary artist style that incorporates various techniques. While they advertise themselves as Alt/Math-rock, (and maybe this is what Math-rock really means), SENECA’s sound feels flexible with this ability to embody tones evocative of other genres.

Jessy Morgan reviewed fluff 6 months ago

One man punk project? Oh BOY, I jumped on this so fast that I ended up light-headed and weak at the knees. After my previous encounter with Hena, my hunger for punk music has been growing relentlessly, and thankfully, the On The House artist page has a lot to feed me.

Tea & Toast, which is displayed on their OTH is the perfect introduction to what Fluff is all about. It’s modern beats with a signature 80’s punk voice sitting on top of it. It’s a wonder how it goes together so well, but it’s nothing short of a vibe. The stand out moment in Tea & Toast for me, is the slow, placid beat that’s followed by a loud snare and groaning that can only be described as the sound of angst. This track is a current stand out in the ongoing list of latest releases – it’s a one-of-a-kind sound that I truly believe is only achievable by Fluff.

FLUFF replied 6 months ago

Hey Jessy! Thankyou so much for the nice review, I’m super glad you’re enjoying my work, I really appreciate it! There will be plenty more where that came from in the upcoming months. 😊

Jessy Morgan reviewed WIRED DESIGN 7 months ago

Since I was introduced to Wired Designs by a good friend, they’ve been a staple in my library as well as a talking point with other post-hardcore music enthusiasts. Their an enthralling band of ingenuity, providing their tracks with those punk undertones that are rarely ever produced. Invisible Enemy, for an example, is a completed track that’s intensity comes from dissonant vocals atop dynamic instrumentals. Last years ‘The Lockdown Project’ saw a multitude of local artists getting involved with their music, using the artists talents to their advantage. Panic Room, featuring former Merithian member, Liam Engel, incorporates a variety of sounds that really tie together Wired Design’s skill of creating music that experimental to the usual, however still keeping their distinct sound.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Hena 7 months ago

I’m back with another review for Hena! Since my last review, Hena has released his latest track ‘Fiendin.’

There’s no doubt that Hena has a knack for his punk folk vibes, however ‘Fiendin’ hits different to the rest of his discography. The instruments seem to have taken a more kaleidoscopic impression, offering a psychedelic experience that matches the overall song. If I had to describe it to a person that has never heard music in their life, ‘Fiendin’ is a gritty slam poetry put atop the ecstasy trips you see in the films. It still holds onto Hena’s distinguished punk sound, however the anger isn’t there like the previous material.
If anything, ‘Fiendin’ shows that Hena is no one trick pony, using the art of music to explore a variety of emotions and events.

Jessy Morgan reviewed ATHELAS 7 months ago

From spinning ‘Perception,’ it’s clear that Athelas doesn’t do things by the norm. There’s quite a unique sound to their music that gives them their distinguished, heavy sound. Growing up around the time where metalcore really started to find its feet, Athelas have continued to create that fine tuned noise that we all enjoyed those years ago, yet developing it with more depth. ‘Perception’ is really enthralling, featuring a deep bass and thunderous drums tied together by low false chord screams and clean compelling vocals.
It seems as though South West quartet started their career with clear visioning, as their 2018 track ‘Degrow’ on Spotify is equally as gripping using the same established sound we can hear in ‘Perception.’ Their flair for metal song writing is obvious and cannot be denied with the three tracks that are currently available.

For metal fans, Athelas is an exciting band to follow that show real potential in their already strong career.

Jessy Morgan reviewed RAGING CLUE 8 months ago

Start with some distorted power chords.
Add a deep bass.
Bring in the melodies.
Raging Clue are a nostalgic MySpace era throwback of punk rock. Their charisma lies in their DIY style recordings, with their latest release ‘Drop This Feeling’ reminiscent of the late 90’s bursting punk rock scene. Instead of focusing on clear, precise recordings, Raging Clue centralises their tracks on a mix of high energy and fun. From their discography, 2020’s ‘She Don’t’ stands out with a bassy intro and well calculated harmonised instrumentals. Raging Clue have quite the foundation since their formation in 2019, and going forward, Raging Clue are an exciting band to follow.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Hena 8 months ago

Despite the subject of a majority of Hena’s tracks being less than pleasing, there’s a charm to the sound. Staying true to the values of punk, the sprinkles of folk are heard in a DIY style recording that give the tracks a raw sense. There’s an obvious message Hena is getting across – and doing it well through the art of music. The tracks are catchy and angry and most of all, a real revolt anthem that’s likely to get the attention of fellow leftists.

Hena isn’t afraid to write, record and perform whats on his mind. A single manned music project feels like it channels the anger of many, with a handful of songs that display a genuine talent for lyric writing, toying with subjects that, for some, hit home quite hard. Even so, the folk punk artist accompanies such topics with a light and lovely guitar, turning his music into a talking point that can open the hearts and minds of many if they choose to do so.

There’s a lot of potential in Hena, and an odd sense of loyalty after first listen if you really vibe with his musical messages. While I envision coming across Hena sitting outside parliament with his guitar as his weapon of protest, I believe he can garner a solid crowd of punk mohawks into a crowded room and unify the crowd – and I’d like to witness a Hena gig to see if what I believe is actual reality.

Hena Larkin replied 8 months ago

Thanks for the review Jessy! I really appreciate you taking the time to check out my work, my newest single has just come out today and I’ve linked it on here through Spotify so give that a listen if you’re interested, it’s quite different from the previous EP’s.

You’re spot on about the vibe of my live shows definitely come check one out when gigs are back on, hit me up and I’ll get you on a guestlist.

Jessy Morgan reviewed WRONGENS. 1 year ago

Colours is a welcomed EP to the hardcore punk scene, featuring a mixture of heavy, melodic riffs and in mismatched rhythms. While radiating combative energy, the EP is very charming as it moves through its tracks with structured and calculated verses. Maybe other than ‘No Guts,’ which is an all-out display of force in a thirty-second clip. Heavy on the bass and distortion, the real selling point of the EP is the distinguished sound Wrongens have put together, combining a variety of aspects from genres to create a stand-out taster of who and what they are. The title track, ‘Colours,’ is the highlight of the EP, notably different from the other four tracks. Being the first track of the EP, it’s a brilliant display of talent from each pillar of the band as it drives the EP into some of the more tumultuous tones that Wrongens are capable of. Guttural vocals lead ‘Precious Flower,’ but despite the name, it’s more likely to remind you of being in the middle of a pit at a dive bar – which is welcomed considering the current circumstances. In fact, one of the best parts about Colours is its ability to remind you of what a hardcore concert was like when we could go – the turbulent drums really gets your heart rate going. For the week that Colours has been out, it’s been a staple in my music library, fitting alongside Cancer Bats and Gallows, bringing nothing but excitement for Wrongens future endeavours and a hope to catch the energetic chaos, live.

Jessy Morgan reviewed Haytor 1 year ago

Known for its lively music scene and creative inspiration, Exeter is undeniably a place that has produced some of the most talented and expressive artists in the industry today. And Exeter gave us Haytor. Formed through a passion for rock, the quintet indie-pop band, is proof of the creative revolution to come out of the Midlands city inspired by pushing boundaries from the norm and contorting their talents into new ways to create innovative and euphonious music. Their latest release, Growing Pains, accompanied by a video shows their talents combined, using each instrument to its full potential to drive the track into more than just a song.

The drums take centre stage for a lot of Growing Pains, setting the overall pace and balance of the song, fluctuating its energy to match the tone throughout. It compliments the artistry that is the guitar, toying with higher notes for that upbeat, movement promoting layering on top. It’s almost story-telling as we follow Growing Pains through the motions, allowing the instruments to urge the emotions forward, including thought-provoking lyrics likely to leach themselves into your mind for a very long time after the initial listen. It feels criminal to bundle it together with those songs that you call catchy, and maybe catchy is an understatement, because Growing Pains isn’t only musically addictive, it’s a mood lifter thanks to it’s inspirative melodies.

Released yesterday, the track is available on streaming services now along with the music video online and ready to watch.